Game Development

Lots of Learning

Sorry for not posting for a while, I almost forgot about the blog, hahaha!

The last four month since the last post involved lots of learning pertaining to game development, hoping that all of that info will stay in my head.

I haven’t touched Unity 3D (Unity 3 to be exact) since 2012 and forgot about most of the things I learned about it, but I didn’t go too deep into learning how it works anyways. Fortunately, what did remain in my head helped me learn the engine again a little quicker. Decided to relearn Unity again, because I need to know how to use at least one game engine that does 3D.

I also learned the basics of a couple of programming languages – Ruby and Lua. Ruby because I’m trying to learn how to use RPG Maker VX Ace a bit more in-depth, and Lua because I’m trying to learn how to use LÖVE. I also learned how to use Visual Basic 6.0, because I put together a Windows 98 SE laptop last year for retro game development purposes; unfortunately, I’m a lot more limited to what engines I can use with the OS, so I have to resort to more general-purpose languages and IDEs. “But why Visual Basic 6?” you ask? Simple: it was $5 on eBay. Even though I learned how to use VB6, it was pointless for me at the end, because I needed to also know how to do DirectX programming, and it was uber frustrating to learn when I tried.

I also learned some basic music theory. Not sure if it will help, but it a starting point, I guess. Learned a bit about Inform 7 as well, since creating Interactive Fiction has been in my head for a while now.

Anyways, that’s it for this post. See you all next time.

Leave a Reply

